Hubei Humanwell pharmaceutical excipients Co., Ltd. All rights reserved 

   鄂ICP备05028860号-1      Power by

Mobile website



Whatsapp : +8613147107278

Address:No.1905,#9, Guanggu International Headquarter, No. 62, Guanggu Ave., Wuhan,Hubei,China

Differences Between Vegetarian And Gelatin Capsules


Differences Between Vegetarian And Gelatin Capsules

Page view


Capsules are known to be the preferred delivery method of medications and supplements. They are quick dissolving, fairly inexpensive, and easy to fill for both home as well as commercial consumption. As opposed to various other delivery methods, substances are not being directly added to the medication or supplement, not compromising their efficacy.

Empty capsules are available for purchase in two distinct categories; the traditional gelatin caps, and vegetarian varieties. While both can potentially serve your needs, it is important to know the differences between gelatin and vegetarian capsules. Understanding the benefits to each type of capsule can allow you to better serve your consumer and their needs.

Advantages and Disadvantages of Gelatin Capsules

Gelatin is the original and most common material used to produce capsules. It is the less expensive option, and is available in many options. These capsules can be purchased in various colors, flavors, as well as sizes to suit your needs. However, gelatin is an animal by product formed from collagen. This protein is obtained from connective tissues as well as organs of animals, which can be a major downfall for some consumers. Individuals with religious or dietary restrictions which forbid them from consuming such animal products will not be suited for the usage of the traditional gelatin capsules. While this population may be slight in your client base, it is still a factor you may want to consider.

Another factor to consider when choosing between gelatin and vegetarian capsules is what they are going to be filled with. Gelatin capsules are only suitable for use with powdered medications or supplements. Liquids and various other materials such as gels are not compatible with capsules made of gelatin.

Advantages and Disadvantages of Vegetarian Capsules

One of the most obvious advantages of using cellulose based or vegetarian capsules is that they are not made with animal byproducts. This distinct characteristic allows them to be suitable for individuals who choose not to consume products sourced from animals. Vegetarian capsules in addition to being both the obvious choice for both vegetarian and vegan consumers are also more acceptable for religious reasons as well. In fact, vegetarian capsules are often deemed suitable to be classified as both Kosher and Halal products. This opens the option for a larger customer base. These capsules are available in various colors and sizes, and are more flexible in their application. Cellulose is the preferred capsule base for substances that have more of a semi solid or gel composition. Additionally, vegetarian capsules have no known potential health risks, even when consumed in a long term scenario as they are 100% natural and nontoxic.